top of page
Search

I Forgive You.



When I was in middle school I went to a Matthew West concert with my church's youth group. He played his song "Forgiveness" and it was the first time I had ever heard it. Before the song, he told a story of a woman who lost her daughter to a drunk driver. 


Years after the trial, the woman visited the man in prison. He had since accepted Jesus into his heart, and the woman told the man she forgave him for what he had done. 


I remember thinking, 'Wow, can you imagine forgiving someone who killed your child?' 


Forgiveness is something that I have always struggled with. As a young 20 something, I've always found it difficult to forgive people if I don't think they feel remorseful. How can you forgive someone who isn't even sorry?


A friend of mine told me recently that I exemplify many great qualities and I try to live out the Gospel, but they could tell I didn't like to forgive those who had done wrong by me. 

We've all heard the verse in the Bible to forgive "seventy time seven times." Do we actually set out to do that though?


"Then Peter came to him and asked, “Lord, how many times should I forgive someone who sins against me? Seven times?" "No, not seven times," Jesus replied, “I tell you, not seven times, but seventy times seven!" -Matthew 18:21-22

That seems like so many times, yet Jesus didn't say "forgive them IF they're sorry." He tells us to do it regardless. 


"And whenever you stand praying, forgive, if you have anything against anyone, so that your Father also who is in heaven may forgive you your trespasses.” -Mark 11:25

Remember that just as we love because He loves us, we need to forgive because He forgives us, as well. 


"Love prospers when a fault is forgiven, but dwelling on it separates close friends." -Proverbs 17:9

I stayed angry with a good friend once for months because I didn't think they were sorry. When I finally brought it up, it turned out to be a misunderstanding and we had both wasted time being upset when we could have been friends. Don't waste time missing out on relationships with people because you don't feel like they deserve your forgiveness. If God can forgive you for all the things you have done, you can forgive your friend or whoever else in your life you might be upset with. 


"Get rid of all bitterness, rage and anger, brawling and slander, along with every form of malice. Be kind to one another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, as God in Christ forgave you." -Ephesians 4:31-32

To those who hurt me in the past, I'm sorry I held on to that for so long. I pray you have made peace with it, too, and can forgive me for anything I might have done. I've let go, and have moved on with my life, but I realize now there's still one thing I need to do: I forgive you. 



Watch the story behind the song yourself:  https://youtu.be/wz3tkHv5sbg


Listen to the actual song: https://youtu.be/FMn0QNdiuGE📷Matthew


60 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page