top of page
Search

I Stopped Living For "The Future"


"Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own." - Matthew 6:34

I went back and forth on writing this because it's something I still struggle with. My whole life I have always looked forward to what was next.

As a child, I couldn't wait to be in elementary school like my big sister.

In elementary school, I couldn't wait to be in middle school like all the "big kids."

In middle school, I couldn't wait to be an eighth grader and be the "kings of the school."

In eighth grade, I couldn't wait to be in high school cause that's when you had "finally made it."

In high school, I couldn't wait to be a senior. Top dogs again.

As a senior, I couldn't wait to be in college and have freedom.

In college, I couldn't wait to graduate.

Looking back, all of those moments went by so quickly because I was always so focused on the next big moment. I always wanted to focus and maintain my goals to get where I wanted to go. I thought after I graduated I would be so content. I was wrong.

I finished college so quickly because I couldn't wait to "be a grown up."

I don't regret how I did things or how quickly I finished school. Honestly, I can't imagine things having gone any other way, but one of the greatest things we can do in life is learn from our past.

Mine has shown me that, for right now at least, I just want to live in the moment and enjoy life. I'm not going to be in my 20s forever. Life and all of it's big and special moments are going to continue passing by quickly, but I'm here for the ride and ready to embrace this wonderful, crazy life.

I'm ready to live for the now and try to stop worrying about what's next. As much as I would like it, not everything can be planned out. Life is too short to always be worrying about something - sometimes you just need to sit back and enjoy it.

Here's to living for today and worrying about tomorrow, tomorrow.

69 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page