top of page
Search

If I Have A Daughter



I often think about lessons I want to teach my future kids, wonder what they will be like, and look forward to the day I get to experience life with them. I hope to teach my daughter(s) many things, but these few lately have been really jumping out to me.


The Golden Rule. “Do unto others, as you would have others do unto you.” –Luke 6:31



God made you special. From the day I was born, everyone around me has always taught me this. It’s something that I want to teach my daughter from the day she takes her first breath, until I take my final one. “For you created my inmost being; you knit me from my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.” –Psalm 139:13



Jesus is always there. I want her to know this with every ounce of her being. “And teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.” –Matthew 28:20. “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.” –Hebrews 13:5


Sometimes you have to walk alone to do the right thing. “Blessed is the man who does not walk in the counsel of the wicked or stand in the way of sinners or sit in the seat of mockers.” –Psalm 1:1




Beauty comes from the inside. Not that I don’t wish my daughter to be beautiful on the outside, because I know she will be. Everyone is made in God’s image, and He created us each beautiful in our own ways. I want her to know that her looks are insignificant. “But the Lord said to Samuel, ‘Do not consider his appearance or his height, for I have rejected him. The Lord does not look at the things man looks at. Man looks at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart.” -1 Samuel 16:7



Not everyone will be nice to you. Life is hard and people are hateful. I want her to know that it isn’t her job to judge others for their actions toward her, but to pray for them. “But I tell you: Love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you.” –Matthew 5:44



Don’t do things because they seem like the “Christian” thing to do. Not only is comparing your physical features to others’ bad, but so is comparing where you are on your journey with God to where others are on theirs. Everything that has ever happened to you was for a reason. God has amazing plans for you. He made you- only you- to fulfill a specific purpose in this world. Don’t do something because it’s what all the other Christians are doing, but rather pray about it and see if it’s something you are called to do.



God loves you unconditionally. Our love from God isn’t dependent on us. He doesn’t love us any more or less based on the things we do or say. “The Lord loves righteousness and justice; the earth is full of his unfailing love.” –Psalm 33:5


God has already paved the way for you. “In his heart a man plans his course, but the Lord determines his steps.” –Proverbs 16:9



You are never worthless. I want my daughter to know how valuable she is, not only to her family, but also to Christ. God sent His only son to die for you. If that doesn’t show value, I don’t know what does. “She is more precious than rubies; nothing you desire can compare to her.” –Proverbs 3:15 “But God shows his love for us in that while we were sinners, Christ died for us.” –Romans 5:8



“Life on a mission will always face opposition.” “He was despised and rejected by man, a man of sorrows, and familiar with suffering. Like one whom men hide their faces he was despised, and we esteem him not.” –Isaiah 53:3



Encouragement. I want to encourage my daughter to live a life that is glorifying to the Lord. I believe every child should have someone who does this. I want to encourage my daughter not feel looked down upon, and not to give up when it feels like her world is caving in. “May our Lord Jesus Christ himself and God our Father, who loved us and by his grace gave us eternal encouragement and good hope, encourage your hearts and strengthen you in every good deed and word.” -2 Thessalonians 2:16-17



You always have room for growth. Mentally, physically, emotionally, and especially spiritually. “The apostles said to the Lord, ‘Increase our faith!’”


Live a life of pure joy. I hope and pray that my daughter seeks to find joy in the little things. I hope she never lets life get her down, and always tries to be abundantly happy. “May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” –Romans 15:13




Know the value of a true friend. I hope she knows not every one around her has her best interest in mind. People will try to take advantage of her, mistreat her and more. There will be some people who come in to her life that will be lifelong friends. She will find her people that will be there for the ups and the downs, no matter what. I pray she knows the goodness of those few and keeps them close. “A friend loves at all times, and a brother is born in adversity.” –Proverbs 17:17


Never settle. Know your worth and make sure people treat you with nothing less than what you deserve.



Thanks to all of the amazing, strong women in my life (some pictured here but there are so many more) who taught me these lessons and so many others!


"Here's to strong women, may we know them, may we be them, may we raise them."

59 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page