top of page
Search

In Between

Updated: Oct 23, 2019

For me it’s been a lot of figuring things out lately, but I found the perfect song to describe this “in between” stage of life I'm currently in.


In between just a flame and a ring In between an apartment and a front-porch swing In between cheap and fancy a guitar and a Grammy In between reckless and responsibility


Sometimes I'm my mother's daughter, sometimes I'm her friend


Sometimes I play grown up and sometimes I play pretend Sometimes I'm a princess dressed all curves And sometimes I just wanna scream "I'm not a little girl!"


Dumb enough to think I know it all Smart enough to know I don't Young enough to think I'll live forever Old enough to know I won't


In between beer and basement And Napa Valley vacation In between hometown and a neon city In between underestimated and overexpectated Who I was and who I'm gonna be


'Cause it ain't as simple As a number, sitting on a page When they say "act your age" But you're stuck there in the middle

Moral of the story, I’m still learning about life, about my “big girl” job, about everything, and I like to think I play grown up a little more than I play pretend, but I do often still feel like people treat me like the same little girl they watched grow up.


One of my favorite parts about getting older is more often than not, I’m able to call my parents friends, even though I’m sure they still feel like they constantly need to parent me.


So here's to all of the rest of you trying to figure out the "in between" too.


Source: LyricFind

Songwriters: Jimmy Robbins / Kelsea Ballerini / Shane L McAnally

In Between lyrics © Kobalt Music Publishing Ltd., Round Hill Music Big Loud Songs, Audiam, Inc

57 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page